top of page

San Bartolo-Community Visit

San Bartolo is a community consisting of 200 houses that reached out to Codeinse and Life Giving Water requesting a new water system since theirs is over 36 years old, and its pipes are cracking in several places underground. The interns set off to the community to conduct a topographic survey of the land, one of the first processes for designing and installing a new water system.

Monday: Since Liam is the only one who fully understood how to use the equipment for the surveying, Victoria and I learned! What a cool way to record a specific point using refraction.

Tuesday: Today is the day! Tuesday to Wednesday night we spent the night in the community in order to first, build a better relationship with the community, but secondly to also ensure all the surveying was completed. Actually, Tuesday I was not with the other interns, I was sent off with six local men to observe and test the different water at the several different tanks. (Fun Fact: The communities water system consisted of 5 different tanks that all pumped water up to the top of a hill where the reservoir collected all the water and distributed to all of the houses. I tested the water at the farthest tank and also at the source. To my surprise, the values of all the chemical tests where different. For example the pH at the farthest tank was 8.41 and the pH at the source was 7.59. This data simple states that not only are the pipes cracking but they also carry microorganism that contribute to the chemical composition of the water from tank to tank.) Not only did I enjoy time learning Quichua, the rural indigenous language, but also spending time with the older gentlemen. I spent a lot of time trying my best to explain all of the chemical tests I was completing and why they were important. I even let them measure some amounts for me and write data! it was an amazing experience.)

selfie before we head out into the cold and pouring rain:

selfie before we head out into the cold and pouring rain

rain boots on and all! we are ready to work! rain or shine:

From the tank, I could see the surveying team at their station! very cool!:

chemistry and my bright yellow rain boots, what else do I need? ... maybe some chocolate ;)

my smiling men :)

Victoria took this picture form above, down on me and my men as we conducted chemistry tests at the tank! I enjoyed their attentiveness and curiosity as they watched and participated.

LUNCH TIME:

Hike up to the next destination...the source:

lets play ispy...find me:

when out of breath, take a selfie:

Coffee break:

Finished the night off with some cuy for dinner. I had the paws, and the joke of the night was that I could now scratch my back with the cuy paws. very funny. The community was extremely generous and selfless. The prepared our mattresses with three alpaca blankets each, and it seemed every where we turned they were giving us food, coffee or thanking us. What a wonderful community to work with!

P.S Check out our view from our room!

Wednesday: Wednesday, I assisted Liam and Victoria finish the surveying before I took an early ride back home to my host families house since I caught the stomach bug.

the hike down the mountain only to go back up for another in order to construct another station for the survey:

Community visits are extremely special. Meeting the people, hearing their stories and experiencing life with them is the most rewarding and challenging experience however I would not change it for the world. Thank you San Bartolo for teaching me self independence, strength and to trust in the Lord always.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page