top of page

I owe my life to my 'abuelita patron'

When: June 13, 2017

Location: San Bartolo

Where: Walking up from the farthest water collection tank, the incline was significant and with the rain, and mud I was convinced I was not going to make it. Leading was the president of the communities water board, and two other older gentlemen followed. Then there was me two miles behind, ( I am exaggerating the distance however I was far behind) however on my heals were three older gentlemen over the age of 80 years old, I am convinced! I kept saying, "yo no puedo respirir" (I cannot breath) or "estoy cansada" (I am tired) and every time they laughed, when really on the inside I was scared for my life. After walking up a part of loose soil and losing my footing many times, one of the older gentlemen behind me handed me his walking stick and said I needed it more than him. That walking stick the man gave me not only gave me literal support as I climbed but also emotional support as the men encouraged me and basically carried me up the rest of the mountain.

As seen in the picture: Me with my walking stick and the men surrounding me, ready to catch me whenever I lost my footing. Also in the picture, please admire the beautiful mountain that I climbed, starting from the very bottom at the tank and finishing at the road.

Once we arrived at the top, and began walking on the FLAT road, I recognized that they old man who lent me his walking stick was carrying a large piece of wood. He told me that I could keep the stick, and that he would make himself another. For the rest of the day he carried the large piece of wood everywhere we went!

Throughout the rest of the day, the walking stick and I bonded as is saved my life many more times. Not only did it serve as stability but also as the start to many relationships. Locals would see me with the men and my walking stick and understand that I had been accepted and brought into the community as one of them. They began to open up, and tell stories. We even told jokes and laughed!

At lunch, Efrian, an employee for Codiense was teasing me that only abuelitas need a walking stick, however I was an abuelita because my lungs were not adapted to the altitude and hiking. As a joke, he took my phone and videos me walking. enjoy :) and after that moment, my walking stick was named 'abuelita patron' (grandma walking stick)

From then on, through the grain fields, up the slippery slopes and down the narrow paths, my abuelita patron and I went.

By the end of the visit, not only had I been accepted by the community but they were all calling me abuelita


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page